U18 Schools’ Trophy (Girls): John Madejski 2-6 Balby Carr

Tuesday 30 March 2010By ESFA Office

Last Updated:
10/02/2021 11:48:51

Balby Carr Community Sports College Under 18 Girls' Football Team

Balby Carr celebrate Trophy win

Balby Carr Community Sports College (Doncaster SFA) were crowned Under 18 Schools’ Trophy (Girls) champions for 2010 yesterday afternoon, as they overcame John Madejski Academy (Reading SFA) with a convincing 6-2 victory at the Madejski Stadium, home of Reading Football Club.

Balby Carr took an early lead on 3 minutes through Jenny Knibbs.  However, their lead did not last long as Danielle Puddefoot put John Madejski Academy back on level terms after 10 minutes.  Francesca Kirby then put the JMA in the lead on 23 minutes, much to the delight of the local crowd.  No further goals were scored before half time depsite chances at both ends.

Balby Carr came back strongly in the second half and soon drew level on 52 minutes, courtesy of a Becky Kendall strike.  Balby struck again soon after on 55 minutes thanks to another well taken effort from Jenny Knibbs.  Jenny Knibbs then proceeded to complete her hatrick on 66 minutes, a goal which took her tournament total to eleven goals in eight matches.

Beth Smith then made it 5-2 to the Doncaster outfit, before Lauren Rodway made it six in injury time.

ESFA Chairman, Paul Rickard, was on hand to present the trophy to the Balby Carr Captain, at the end of a fantastic advert for girls' football.


John Madejski: Grace Maloney (GK), Jessica Winchester, Georgia McGill, Loretta Kellman, Charli Barton, Jodie Webb, Charmaine Hughes-Buyne, Charlotte Chard, Deanna Peters, Danielle Puddefoot, Francesca Kirby, Charlotte Jones, Kelsey Mitchell and Jessica Darcy-Sawyer.
Team Management: Kelly Chambers (Team Manager), Kayleigh Hines (Assistant Manager), Julie Townrow (Physio), Tristan Lewis (Director of Football).

Balby Car: Jess Andrew (GK), Leigh Ann Topliss, Becky Kendall, Emma Stocks, Emma Walker, Nicole Rush, Emma Harrison, Leanne Scott, Kirsty Smith, Emma Nesbitt, Sophie Allott, Lauren Earle, Hayley Rhodes, Becky Wales, Lauren Rodway, Stacey Elliot, Beth Smith, Michelle Marshall, Leanne Warren, Jenny Knibbs, Laura Jenkins, Natalie McHale and Becky Smith.
Team Management: Ben Mawson (Team Manager), Jordan Beedle (Assistant Manager), Rick McGowan (Physio / Goalkeeper Coach), Matt Ellison (Kitman).

Match Officials
Referee: Janie Frampton (Dorset FA) | Assistants: Lucy May (Hampshire FA) and Paula Wyatt (Hampshire FA) | Reserve: Elizabeth Rowbotham (Berks & Bucks FA).

U18 Schools’ Trophy (Girls) Results

Photographs and a Match DVD can be purchased via www.rwt-photography.co.uk


We use cookies to improve your online experience. For information on the cookies we use and for details on how we process your personal information, please see our cookie policy and privacy policy. By continuing to use our website you consent to us using cookies.